Board of Directors

Ambassador Roberto Romulo
Chairman of the Board of Directors

AIG Philippines Insurance, Inc.

Ambassador Roberto R. Romulo is the Chairman of the following organizations: AIG Philippines Insurance, Inc., MediLink Network Inc. and Nationwide Development Corporation (NADECOR). He holds board memberships in the following corporations: Philippine Long Distance Telephone Co (PLDT); Equicom Savings Bank; Robinsons Retail Holdings, Inc., Maxicare Healthcare Corporation and McLarty Associates (formerly Kissinger McLarty Associates).

He is a graduate of Georgetown University with a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science and the Ateneo de Manila University with a Bachelor of Laws.

He started his professional career as an IBM marketing trainee in New York City. During his IBM career, he held various marketing and management positions in New York, Managing Director in Thailand, Burma and Bangladesh and the Philippines (President and GM).

He joined government service in June 1989 when he was appointed Ambassador to Belgium, Luxembourg and the Commission of the European Communities. In 1992, he was appointed Secretary of Foreign Affairs.

In 1995, he rejoined the private sector and was elected as Chairman of PLDT, and Vice-Chair of San Miguel International. He was Chairman of Interpharma Investments Ltd. (Zuellig Pharma) from 1997 to 2007. He was a board member of MIH (a subsidiary of NASPERS, a South African Company) from 2002 to 2013). From 2003 to 2010, he was an independent director of Singapore Land and UIC.

In 1996, he was the founding Chairman of the APEC Business Advisory Council and continued as Chairman of the Philippine Representation until 2010. From 1999 to 2001, he was Chairman of the e-ASEAN Task Force. From January 2001 to January 2007, he was pro-bono senior advisor on international competitiveness to President Gloria Arroyo.

He is also chairman of non-profit foundations: Carlos P. Romulo Foundation for Peace and Development, Zuellig Family Foundation, and Asia-Europe Foundation of the Philippines. He is a Co-Founder and Trustee of the US-Philippines Society.

As a diplomat, he has been decorated by the governments of Belgium, Thailand, Spain, Chile, France and the Philippines. He was the fourth recipient of the Arangkada Lifetime Achievement Award for 2016 presented by the Joint Foreign Chambers of the Philippines.

Date of First Appointment: June 21, 2000